Some years of my life have been rockier than others, but 2014 has been a right S-O-B. There are years I have been more poor, and years I have been more sick, but 2014 has put me through the meat-grinder in ways I can barely articulate. I am not a date-sentimental girl, and I don’t get attached to birthdays and anniversaries, but I am fervently wishing that as 2014 comes to an end, my juju will change and the winds of fate will blow in a better direction for my life. I believe in theory that a lot of “luck” is about positioning ourselves in a place to receive the good that is out there, and to both recognize and appreciate the wisdom and the blessings that are inherent in many situations.

But 2014 has run me over like a monster truck and left me laying on the ground in a heap. Some challenges show you that you are stronger than you ever knew you could be. This year has shown me that I am more fallible, more fragile, and more easily broken than I ever anticipated. The secular year is over, and I am limping to the finish line, relieved that I made it and clinging to hope for better times ahead.

In the coming year, I wish all of you the fulfillment of your heart’s desires, that you should have the strength to bear any challenges that come your way, that the hard times are few (if you must have then at all), and that each day leaves you hoping in eager anticipation for another and another and another. I wish you the best of everything there is, and that no sadness comes upon you.

Out with 2014 and in with 2015- may it be for the best for all of us…