on sunday i went to an engagement party for a young couple who will be moving to our neighborhood. the girl is from LA, so i was telling her how hard it was for me at first to find my way around seattle. she was looking at me blankly, so i explained, “you know, all the hills. and the streets sort of end in one place and then pick up somewhere else. so it took me a long time to get used to. and i couldn’t even get to the store without panicking that i’d get lost. i remember the first time i realized that i’d actually made it to target on my own it was, like, a major milestone!”

so she says to me, rather incredulously, “um, GPS?”

and i literally scanned through my mental rolodex: GPS???? CPS? KFC? QFC? gaps? gups? what the heck is she talking about?????

and it took me a good minute to realize that she meant the thing that tries to talk to you in the car while you are trying to concentrate on driving and not getting lost.

and that, ladies and gentlemen, is called a generation gap.