friday afternoon I started out looking for a sheep to eat my back lawn.

if you know me, you can probably guess where this is headed. I couldn’t find quite the right sheep, but I did find some promising alpaca. (is the plural of alpaca still alpaca?) not only do they eat grass, but they enjoy blackberries, and their supplemental feed is pretty cheap. they choose one spot to go potty, so clean-up-wise, you can’t get much better than that. they are completely adorable, and if you can get past the fact that they sometimes spit when they are frustrated- and c’mon, who doesn’t???- they are downright good companions. add to that the fact that they get along with dogs and chickens and you have yourself a winning combination.

but my kids boycotted the idea.

why do they get a vote, you ask? quite frankly, I wonder that sometimes myself.

meantime, I will have to content myself with enjoying alpaca/s from afar.

or, in this case, their near cousins, the wacky llama: