feel free to try to match this loosely to the “12 days of christmas song”.

on the 12th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 12 hours to load the moving truck (no exaggeration!)

on the 11th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 11 very tearful good-byes (not even counting who the kids said goodbye to)

on the 10th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 10 people asking if i moved the garden to seattle (i wish i could have!)

on the 9th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 9 different snacks for the plane (gotta keep everyone happy!)

on the 8th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 8 last minute loads of laundry (after we spent a week telling the kids to throw all laundry into the laundry room to get washed before we packed!)

on the 7th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 7 bags of trash in oak park (and this is after we cleaned out the house!)

on the 6th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 6 new toothbrushes (because the ones we so carefully wrapped and packed all seem to have disappeared)

on the 5th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 5 packages of dramamine for the kids (gotta love a family where almost all of us get carsick/planesick)

on the 4th day of moving, the universe gave to me: 4 sedatives for the dogs (had them walking wobbly for a day and a half, but it was well worth it!)

on the 3rd day of moving, the universe gave to me: 3 rolls of toilet paper in our hand luggage for “just in case” (just in case of what? you ask… diverted flight to a 3rd world country? you never know, but i’d rather be safe than sorry…)

on the 2nd day of moving, the universe gave to me: 2 loads of laundry in the apartment, done with fabric softener instead of detergent (yes, *h doesn’t read labels, and i was too tired to realize it until the 2nd load was in …)

on the 1st day of moving, the universe gave to me, 1 *h to stay calm, cool, and collected throughout everything. (also, 1 great family, 1 super corporate apartment to stay in until the house is ready, 1 amazing day spent at the pike place market, 1 love of the beautiful views in seattle, 1 sense of appreciation and wonder, which i hope i never lose, 1 huge haul of delicious fruit and veggies that we bought from a small vendor, 1 thank you to everyone who is still following this blog!)