so i noticed in the last day or two that i haven’t been my usual self. my comments have less smiles and less winks (oh, and i posted a nazi poem- clue #89768947580674580670, perhaps?), my voice sounds like mostly what i can only describe as uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugh, and i feel like wearing fuzzy pajamas even when i have to go to the grocery store.

life is a learning process, right? so, here i am learning the same things over and over again and having newfound appreciation for my children who have to learn things for the first time!

today was a fairly regular day. if you don’t count random people stopping by to take pictures of the garden. and if you don’t count a number of people who either slow to a crawl, come to a dead stop, or (my personal favorite!) throw the car in reverse and do a maneuver that would make the dukes of hazzard proud. honestly, these things are becoming just a part of the canvas of life, so when someone outside of the family comments on it, we are kind of surprised, and it takes us a second to realize that this is the new normal- not the real normal…

yesterday i bought some school supplies. i LOVE buying school supplies- always did! i am 2 pages away from finishing the notebook i grabbed to jot down a few things about the garden, back when the garden was just a garden. and now i have a new notebook! it always seems like a fresh beginning to start a new notebook. i used to buy myself new pens, too. but now i actually own several pens i like! go figure- now that i have no toddlers around, i can magically hang onto pens!!!🙂

today i went to a doctor. i washed dishes, did laundry- all the things you have heard about in a myriad of other posts. had some nice phone calls, and some not-so-nice phone calls. and made a great lasagna with my youngest.

yes, it took 9 times longer than it would have taken if i had just done it myself. yes, there was more mess to clean up afterward. but she was so proud of herself that she could help, and it was such a pleasure to slooooooooooooow life down and just be with her.

 in. every. moment.

she was just glowing that she made supper for tonight. my boys were out swimming, and another daughter was out shopping with my mom. the house was fairly quiet, all things considered.

and we just made lasagna. nothing out of the ordinary. no earth shaking news. just me spending time with my kids and enjoying them and being me.

i sorted my legal papers into new files (i’ve been carrying them around in a 2-gallon ziploc- how classy is that!?!?!?!?!), cleaned up around the house ( i am an organizing demon!), re-pierced my ear (yes, right here at the computer- how sanitary…), and loooooooooooved that our air conditioning is working again.

oh- and my friend went today to license her dogs, and apparently has some super interesting story to tell me. so, stay tuned…   :0  :)   ;)   :)    :)    🙂